31 Jan 2021 | 09:00 PM (IST) | 03:30 PM (UK) | 10:30 AM EST (USA) | 09:30 AM CST | 07:30 AM PST

About

Event

This Gujarat album features the work of the Indian poet laureate Premanand a Brahmin who was born around 1640/50 and died between 1700/15. He was the biggest name after Narsinh Mehta and Meerabai he brought to the Gujarati language and people the tradition of Maan Bhatt. As there were no instruments in those days and so the Maan Bhatt become the common instrumentation. The Maan being the clay pot and Bhatt referring to the fact that the player was generally of Brahmin origin (i.e., caste). So this album is Premanand's recital of his poem ''Kunverbhainu Mamer'' on the Maan Bhatt performed by Shree Dharmiklal Pandya the last known player of the Maan.

About

Speaker




Maanbhatt Shri Dharmiklal Pandya

Akhyanakar, Maanbhatt artist, Author



Shri Dharmiklal Pandya belongs to the traditional Akhyanakaras of Gujarat. Born in 1932 at Baroda, Shri Dharmiklal Pandya studied the art of Akhyana under his father, Shri Chunilal Vyas from a young age. He revived the art of Akhyana and populari- sed it in recent times. He has performed widely all over the country. He is today one of the most eminent: Akhyanakaras and is training many students at his institute in Baroda.

Shri Dharmiklal Pandya has received many awards including award from the Gujarat State Sangeet Nritya Natya Akademi. He is the author of Gujarati Akhyana and Govindaguna Sagar. For his eminence in the field of music and his contribution to its enrichment, Shri Dharmiklal Pandya receives the Sangeet Natak Akademi Award for Akhyana for 1983.